How The Storm Whale Came To Be by Benji Davies

Nerdy Book Club

It was late 2009 and I had been working on new samples to show publishers. I already had several picture books under my belt as illustrator but writing was not something I had ventured into. It was something that appealed to me, but I hadn’t had the time to really get on, to actually write something of my own. Animation was my main pursuit back then and had been for five years or so, working as an animation director making commercials in London, with several well-known British brands on my showreel. But creating my own stories was what I really wanted to do. At the time the best route into this seemed through making short films. I had studied animation, was making a career from it, and it was what I thought I knew best.

Making short animated films is on the whole, whilst romantic, a sweat-inducing affair. Any money…

Ver la entrada original 681 palabras más

Responder

